4. Do any Tofutti products contain dairy?
All of our products are certified Kosher Parve, which means that none of our products ever contain any dairy whatsoever. This means no milk byproducts either, such as casein, whey, skim milk powder, or dairy lactic acid. Please keep in mind that a product can be lactose free, but not necessarily dairy free. Such a product cannot call itself dairy free. Typically, if you see a kosher parve symbol on the package, that will tell you that the product is completely dairy free.
Lactic acid used in all Tofutti products is of vegetable origin, not dairy. It is produced from microbial fermentation of certain vegetables and other ingredients. It simply simulates the functionality of regular lactic acid. We always use “veg” or “vegetable” before the words lactic acid in our ingredients to let consumers know that is where the ingredient comes from and that it is not derived from dairy.
Lecithin used in all Tofutti products is derived from soy. We could not be Kosher Parve if it came from animals. If you see a Kosher Parve symbol, the lecithin used in the product will always be from a vegetable, typically soy. This has nothing to do with dairy.
Caramel color and caramel flavor used in all Tofutti products are dairy free. Typically, caramel color and caramel flavor come from cooking sugar at high temperatures for a long period of time.
Cocoa butter used in all Tofutti products is dairy free. Unfortunately, when people create ingredients and food products the names they give them sometimes do not reflect what they really are. Cocoa butter refers to the fat from the cocoa bean. The word “butter” in this case has nothing to do with dairy.
In order to make certain that there is no dairy in a food product; always look for a Kosher Parve symbol. The Kosher Parve symbol certifies that the product is completely dairy free. All Tofutti products are certified by Kof-K, our Rabbinical certification service.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions.